‘Chewing the (non-animal-based) fat, with comedian Myq Kaplan’

Posted on May 4, 2012

0


Today (4th April), US comedian Myq Kaplan posted an item on the One Green Planet web-site titled ‘Chewing the (non-animal-based) fat, with comedian Myq Kaplan… featuring Gaby Dunn’.

‘… Myq Kaplan is a vegan comedian. Gaby Dunn is a non-vegan comedian.

They are friends.

Here is a conversation they had, about being vegan. Or not. <Cue scary music, and then forget to play it.>

Myq Kaplan: Why aren’t you a vegan?

Gaby Dunn: I’m not a vegan, really because I’m lazy. I don’t think a lot about what I eat on a daily basis — I’m sure it’s not great. I’m really busy all the time and I hardly ever consider what I’m eating. Usually it’s just whatever is near by or whatever other people are eating or cooking. I have stomach issues sometimes (I was lactose intolerant as a kid) and I suspect I’m allergic to certain foods, but I’ve never had it checked out. One time after I got sick from eating chicken, I tried to be vegan, but it only lasted two days. I just never learned to think about the food I’m eating. It’s a really low priority for me, so I’m the exact opposite of those people who Facebook and tweet their meals.

I really like vegan food. I think vegans have the right idea too. It seems really obvious to me that if animal suffering isn’t necessary, then why keep making it a part of human food consumption?

MK: Why haven’t you had your potential allergies and food intolerances looked into as an adult?

Also, I know you, and you actually AREN’T lazy. You’re hardly out of school and have accomplished more than many do in a lifetime. (Of course, some people’s lifetimes are shorter, and some of those people ARE lazy, but the point is that you have actually accomplished a lot in a very short time.) You put a lot of time and effort into your work and passions, so I think that saying “I’m lazy” is a copout; ironically, the only thing that’s lazy about you is classifying yourself as lazy.

(That one’s more of a statement. To make it a question, I guess I should say something like “Wouldn’t you agree?” or “Thoughts?” or at least “Hmm…?”)

And has this conversation or any other recent developments made you think about your food more? It certainly seems like you’re capable of learning about the topic? (You interviewed 100 people who were totally different than you, specifically to learn about them. And this learning, in addition to being of interest in that way, might also actually have a positive effect on your own health, the treatment of other beings, the environment, pretty much everything in the world, no?)

One thing I’ll give you, being the opposite of people who tweet about their food all the time, that’s a point in your favor. Veganism a million, anti-veganism, one. (Not keeping an exact accurate score here. Just estimating.)

GD: I don’t have health insurance right now. Also, medically, I let things sit for way too long. If my leg is broken, I’m like, “Just duct tape it. I’m fine.” I generally don’t get things checked out. I think it’s because my dad was very inclined to tell my sister and I to “walk it off,” so to speak. Now, he wants me to go to the doctor for every sniffle, but it’s too late. Damage is done.

You do have me there. Maybe it’s because I’m not lazy that I’m not a vegan. In the sense that I feel so super busy all the time that I drop the ball on food because I think it’s the one thing I can drop the ball on — others in that category are sleep and showering. If I’m working, I don’t want to stop and think about the food I’m eating, I just want to shovel it in and go. I never know what I want to order at a restaurant or eat for lunch or whatever, because I never think about food. I just decided of all my priorities, food will be the lowest. I’m worried being vegan means 1) spending more money on food, something I don’t care about and 2) that it will make finding food to eat harder to do when I feel like I don’t have time to go searching for special stores or eating establishments. I want to be able to grab what’s in front of me and not care. But I know being vegan has more implications than just food, so that’s what bothers me about not being vegan — because I know it’s also about world hunger and sustainability which are two things I do prioritize caring about (in the sense of volunteering and donating). It’s just like, whyyy does it have to be linked with food which I don’t want to care about?

And yeah, I read an article in Scientific American about how not eating meat (not even being vegan, just vegetarian) can help world hunger because the grain used to fatten cows would then go to people. It made so much sense and I felt like a jerk. You also mention my own health, which is an issue. I should probably at least be a vegetarian. It just takes time. I grew up kosher and so I never had bacon, and so now, it just doesn’t occur to me to order it. If I see it on a menu, my eyes skip over it. I feel like it’d take the same amount of long-term commitment to be vegan, to the point where you stop seeing meat and cheese dishes even as options.

I’d say I’m reconsidering becoming vegetarian now.

MK: Well, that was easy! Everyone wins, except for the old you who loses, but the new you is more important, so take that, old you! …’

Read the item and add your comment online at www.onegreenplanet.org/lifestyle/chewing-the-non-animal-based-fat-comedian-myq-kaplan-gaby-dunn/

.

Posted in: News