fab. vegan recipe of the day: ‘Cauliflower Indian stew’

Posted on April 24, 2012

0


Today (24th April), Carrie posted an item on her Carrie on vegan web-site which includes a fab. vegan recipe for ‘Cauliflower Indian stew’.

‘… After The Battle of the Pressure Cooker last week, I decided to go back to basics with my trusty slow cooker. Where the pressure cooker might be called temperamental, the slow cooker is dependable and flexible. There are no “min” and “max” lines other than the top of the pot, and you can add water, not add water, mix ingredients, add spices, etc.

I can’t believe the only other recipe I’ve posted using the slow cooker has been my World’s Easiest Applesauce! It is high time for me to start making more dishes using this wonderful device. I may also have a particular fondness for the slow cooker because my husband introduced me to it when we first started dating. Since we were both working busy jobs at the time, he showed off by making me Curry Chicken (this was nearly 14 years ago so long before we became vegan). I still remember visiting his apartment after work one day and opening the door to the wonderful, warming aroma of a ready-to-go dinner. Come to think of it, that may be the only time he ever cooked me dinner! Now he is not really allowed in the kitchen. :)

The slow cooker is perfect for when you are really busy and want to pre-make a meal that will be ready hours later. Since I am inundated with work right now, I shopped in my pantry for supplies: …

You could absolutely use beans that you have cooked yourself in this recipe, but it was all I could do this weekend to open and rinse these canned beans.

There are no tricks to making this recipe. I just started adding the ingredients to the pot, starting with the beans, two chopped onions, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce and spices: …

I let that baby sit on high for hours while I worked my brains out at the computer, and then was treated to this fragrant, hot result: …

For an even heartier meal, you could serve the stew over cooked brown rice. Here is the recipe: …

Cauliflower Indian Stew

8 servings

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups chickpeas

1 ½ cups black beans

1 ½ cups red kidney beans

2 onions

5 cloves garlic

1 medium sweet potato

1 medium head of cauliflower

2 cups no salt added diced tomatoes

2 cups no salt added tomato sauce

1 ½ cups full-fat coconut milk

½ teaspoon allspice

1 ½ teaspoons ground cumin

½ teaspoon turmeric

¼ teaspoon chili powder

½ teaspoon ground ginger

1 tablespoon dried oregano

cilantro

2 limes

Directions:

Rinse and drain the beans and add to a 6 ½ quart slow cooker. Chop the onions and mince the garlic. Peel the sweet potato and chop into large chunks. Wash the cauliflower and divide into florets. Add vegetables to slow cooker and pour in diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, allspice, cumin, turmeric, chili powder, ground ginger and oregano. Stir to combine. Pull the leaves from the cilantro and juice the limes. Set aside for topping. Cook on high for 6 hours. Stir in coconut milk. Serve hot with cilantro and lime juice.

Just a note, I have a pretty large slow cooker, it is 6 1/2 quarts. A more basic model is usually about half this size. So, if you are using the smaller version, just cut the ingredients in half and you should be fine.

I’m still intending on using my pressure cooker again this week, I’m just going to try making beans and see how that works. But, for now, my slow cooker is the current favorite child. Do you have any favorite slow cooker recipes to share with me? I am all about “fix it and forget it” meals right now! …’

Read the item and recipe, view images and add your comment online at www.carrieonvegan.com/2012/04/24/the-dependable-slow-cooker-cauliflower-indian-stew/

.

Posted in: News