fab.vegan recipe of the day: ‘Baked fried brown rice’

Posted on November 5, 2013

0


Today (5th November), a fab. vegan recipe was posted on the OH MY VEGGIES web-site titled ‘Baked fried brown rice (yes, baked fried rice!)’.

‘… I made fried rice with brown rice. And I made it by baking it. Yes! I made baked fried rice! So really, it wasn’t even fried at all.

Making fried rice is fussy to begin with, even though it seems straight-forward and simple. You need the right kind of rice, it needs to be dry, and it needs to be a little old. And using brown rice throws another wrench into the whole process. I spent a lot of time working on a fried brown rice recipe and no matter what I tried, the results weren’t what I wanted. It tasted fine, but it didn’t have that chewy, crispy texture that a good fried rice has. Good fried rice–not the mall version that’s basically rice tossed with some soy sauce. That is not fried rice! …

So I had an idea. Could I make baked fried rice? …

Guess what? It worked! Finally I had fried brown rice with that chewy, crispy texture I love so much. Although baked fried rice takes longer than fried fried rice, it’s not any more work–in fact, it’s probably a little bit less …

Baked fried brown rice

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 1 hour
Total Time: 1 hour, 5 minutes
Yield: 4

Ingredients

  • 4 c. cold leftover brown rice
  • 1 bunch green onions, sliced into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1 c. pineapple chunks (I used fresh, but I’m sure canned would be fine)
  • 1 c. frozen edamame, thawed
  • 1/2 c. cashew pieces
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil, melted (peanut, vegetable, or canola oil would work too)
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. sriracha (more for spicier fried rice, less if you like it milder)
  • Oil mister or cooking spray

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Combine rice, green onions, pineapple, edamame, and cashews in a large bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together oil, soy sauce, and sriracha. Pour oil mixture over rice mixture and stir until well-combined.
  3. Spray a rimmed baking sheet with oil or cooking spray. Pour rice onto sheet in an even layer. Bake for 45-60 minutes, stirring about every 20 minutes, or until rice is dry and just beginning to get crispy. Serve with additional soy sauce and sriracha, if desired.

Notes

The rice I used for this was 2 days old …’

Read the intro. in full and the recipe, view images and add your comment online at http://ohmyveggies.com/recipe-baked-fried-brown-rice-yes-baked-fried-rice/

.

Tagged:
Posted in: News